The Clipper

Dog friendly .....

Dog friendly …..

Verse has many purposes. I was walking past the Clipper Café in Shaldon a couple of weeks ago and spotted this sign outside. It made me smile, and isn’t that one of the roles of poetry – to provoke an emotional response? So much better than just a “Dogs Welcome” sign – well done the Clipper for your little piece of street poetry.

The Clipper

The Clipper is happy for me to come in
and have a treat from the biscuit tin.
It’s fine if I have sandy paws
but very wet dogs make slippery floors.
If I have lots of woofy things to say
it’s best if I wait outside that day.
So next time you’re on your walk with me,
remember the Clipper is dog-friendly.

Clipper Cafe

Clipper Cafe

Want to know more?  Check out:

Clipper Cafe …..

Leave a Reply

