The Waters of Teign

The Ferryman

The Ferryman

Today we take the crossing of the river for granted.  There is a fine bridge built originally some 180 years ago or so and rebuilt a number of times since.  Before that though crossing the Teign was a challenge.  There were a number of fording points for livestock, carriages, smugglers and monks.  And there was a ferry that has been running since the eleventh century at least.

I have shamelessly plagiarised a traditional folk-song as an image of the importance of the ferry over time – more poetry of Teignmouth.  If you want to know more see the connection at the end.

The Waters of Teign

I cannot get to my love if I would die;
For the waters of Teign they run strong and run high.
They’re between me and her, and drowning my sigh;
For it’s next to my sweetheart that I would fain lie.

Oh, where is the boatman, my dearest bonny
Oh where is the boatman? Please bring him to me
To ferry me over the Teign so I’ll be
Close to my lover, oh I beg of thee.

Oh, bring me a boatman, I’ll give you money
So you for your trouble rewarded shall be.
I would cross the Teign, my sweetheart to see
And I shall remember the boatman and thee.

I cannot get to my love if I would die;
For the waters of Teign they run strong and run high.
They’re between me and her, and drowning my sigh;
For it’s next to my sweetheart that I would fain lie.

Want to know more?  Check out ‘The Ferry

One thought on “The Waters of Teign

  1. Pingback: The Ness Tunnel, Shaldon | Teignmouth in Verse

Leave a Reply

